Location of Spain on the map

Country in Europe

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a country in Southwestern Europe with some pockets of territory across the Strait of Gibraltar and the Atlantic Ocean. Its continental European territory is situated on the Iberian Peninsula. Its territory also includes two archipelagos: the Canary Islands off the coast of North Africa, and the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea. The African enclaves of Ceuta, Melilla, and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera, makes Spain the only European country to have a physical border with an African country. Several small islands in the Alboran Sea are also part of Spanish territory. The country’s mainland is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with Gibraltar; to the north and northeast by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the west and northwest by Portugal and the Atlantic Ocean respectively.

  • Area: 506.000 km² (195.400 sq miles)
  • Calling code: 34
  • GDP: 1,450 trillion USD (2021)
  • Population: 47,45 million (2020)
  • King: King Felipe VI of Spain
  • Capital: Madrid


  • capital goods (20% of total exports)
  • food, beverages and tobacco (17%)
  • automotive sector (16%)
  • chemicals (14%)
  • consumer goods (10%)
  • non-chemical semi-manufactured products (10%)
  • energy products (7%)


  • Mineral fuels including oil: US$56.7 billion (14.6% of total imports)
  • Vehicles: $49.7 billion (12.8%)
  • Machinery including computers: $37.6 billion (9.7%)

Our HUB Representative


Export Canvas Hub Madrid Spain